What is the WNBA?

The first regular-season WNBA game was played on June 21, 1997. Eight teams played in the first season, and the Houston Comets won the first WNBA Finals in 1997. There are 12 teams today with six in each conference (Eastern and Western). Each team plays 34 regular-season games, beginning in June. Eight teams qualify for the WNBA Playoffs, which begin in September. Conference champions meet in the WNBA Finals.

Related Articles
There are no related articles.